Day 80 to 82 – 365

Sight and Sound Texture. When shooting food, I always make a point to bring out its natural textures by carefully composing and lighting the shot. When you look at the chocolate banana loaves above, you should be able to imagine how it feels in your hand just by looking at the image.

Ghost in the Darkness. There are long days that challenge my dedication to this project. Even when the spirit is willing, on most days, the body is weak dog-tired. I was trying to salvage an especially tiring day by going out on a short walk around my parents’ neighborhood with my camera. But I felt that I was just going to come up with a picture that was both boring and generic. It’s a good thing that this cat passed into the shadows as I was headed out. I just had enough time to make a couple of frames before it disappeared over the fence. I suppose when a white cat walks in front of you it’s good luck.

Over the (L)edge. I placed my main camera on an extended tripod and held it over the gap in the stairwell. I was able to frame and shoot the picture by using an app on my phone. This meant that I was actually looking down on my phone screen as I tried to hold the camera in place as steady as I could. I was aware of the risk this posed. Would I really dare losing the tools that I use to make pictures for a picture? I believe we shouldn’t be afraid to experience this sort of loss because if we truly love something, we will always find a way to keep on doing it.

*For this photo-a-day project, I will be posting thrice a week. Photos shot from Monday to Wednesday will be posted on Thursday, photos from Thursday to Saturday will be up by Sunday, and my selection from Sunday will be posted on a Monday.

Leave a Reply

