Day 73 to 75 – 365

Proof of Concept. I bought a light tent for a little under PhP 1,500 from PRG Photo Shop. For the shot above, I used a single LED light source off camera left. I improvised a bit by placing a thin layer of glass under the tube. I used my mobile to make the picture and processed the image there as well (using Snapseed). I know it’s just translucent fabric being held up by steel rods, but it’s one of the best piece of kit one can get at that price point.

Holding On. The feeling of being aimless and lost that I talked about a few weeks ago has, unfortunately, lingered. The photo of a small spider holding on to its web as a thunderstorm assailed it with gusts of wind and rain resonated with me. You can’t allow struggle to hinder the creation of beauty, no matter how fragile or impermanent it maybe.

Perfecting Your Light. Three small flashes, a variety of light modifiers, the dining room table, and an extra piece of floor tile. I was setting up lights for a product photography job. It took me half a day of experimenting with different modifiers and light placement, but the pop of light on the labels coming from a flash with a grid (that I held in position) clinched it for me.

*For this photo-a-day project, I will be posting thrice a week. Photos shot from Monday to Wednesday will be posted on Thursday, photos from Thursday to Saturday will be up by Sunday, and my selection from Sunday will be posted on a Monday.

Leave a Reply

