Day 69 to 71 – 365

Color of the next year. Pantone has just officially announced the color for the coming year. I think it’s an apt and refreshing choice. With most of the world divided and an outlook that all but seems to be bleak, I like how this particular color denotes a sense of starting fresh, of regrowth, and of hope.

35mm. This focal length on a Fuji body with a crop sensor produces an interesting look when shooting people up close — the shallow depth of field is made more pronounced and there is a perspective distortion that I think adds to the character of the portrait. Also, at this distance, I’m close enough to handhold a small LED lamp to illuminate part of the subject’s face. To me, the final image denotes a sense of familiarity with just a hint of encroaching into the subject’s personal space.

Walking the Talk. One of the projects that I hold dear to my heart is Bare. I am aware that I ask a lot from the subjects who commit to it. To reveal your body, flaws and all, to the world takes courage. I thought I’d shoot a self-portrait so I could empathize with my subjects. Not wearing a shirt, I know, is not a big deal to society at large if you’re a guy; but it is for me. I’m not (and never was) the athletic type. And I know that I’m not going to win any sexiest man awards, but this is how I look. I am aware of every mark and blemish on my body, and for as long as it works well enough for me to achieve my goals and I’m healthy, I accept it wholeheartedly.

*For this photo-a-day project, I will be posting thrice a week. Photos shot from Monday to Wednesday will be posted on Thursday, photos from Thursday to Saturday will be up by Sunday, and my selection from Sunday will be posted on a Monday.

Leave a Reply

