Weekly Photo – Rare or the Start of Something New?

An oft-repeated quote attributed to Chase Jarvis goes –

The best camera is the one that’s with you.

This is probably why I nearly always have one in a bag with me when I go out of the house. Having a couple of pounds of gear slung over your shoulder isn’t the most convenient way to go about, but I have captured many moments that I would have otherwise missed without it.

I have long considered using the camera on my mobile, but the ones with a good camera are usually out of my price range (or more accurately, not a priority in the budget). There aren’t too many phones or apps that allow for manual exposure and focus controls. I also find that processing images on a smart phone can be taxing on its hardware, which necessitates a restart after a while.

Less than a week ago, my wife gifted me with the handset (a Samsung Galaxy Note 7) that she got when she re-contracted her mobile plan. It’s definitely a more capable device that addresses the issues I raised above. It’s a rare thing for me to be shooting pictures with a phone (unless someone else asks me to) and you can clearly see that in the way I hold it in my hand. But I thought I’d give it a try.

20160825_181848-01

I’m pleased with the results so far. However, only time will tell if this will replace the Fujifilm X-E1 in my everyday bag. We’ll see…

__________

This photo is my submission to this week’s photo challenge with the theme Rare.

Leave a Reply

