Weekly Photo – Ephemerality and Chance

Many things in nature are fleeting. Sunlight only takes on a golden radiance an hour or so after it rises or before it sets. A butterfly on  a leaf will flit away in the space of the moment that you notice it. I was fortunate to chance upon this butterfly resting on a leaf in our garden, which is why I quickly set up my camera to take the shot.

I thought I would get two clicks in before it flew away. But it didn’t , it stayed. I grabbed the opportunity to improve on the shot I already had. The sun hadn’t risen above the roofs just yet, so I thought of lighting the scene with a hot shoe flash. I used a full CTO gel (to simulate golden light) and a grid to make the butterfly pop against the leaf. I handheld the flash and tried a couple of angles before I found one that I was happy with.

I made about 20 shots before the butterfly finally flew away. Chances, after all, can last only for so long before they’re gone, so we must take them when we can.

__________

This photo is my submission to this week’s photo challenge with the theme Details.

Leave a Reply

