The Road Thus Far

20160427-jrl_roadtrip-sumilon_051I still get up at 4 a.m. on most days. I now work on pictures and write blog posts instead of grading papers and preparing lessons.

I drink fewer cups of coffee now. I am now down to 2 from 4 a day.

I still work long hours, but the time I put in now bears more purpose and meaning. And I can take naps when I please.

I don’t commute as much. This is a definite godsend during the rainy season (the traffic alone is bad enough). The goal is to convert some of this time off the road into time back on it, but this time on my two feet.

Many things about this path are still uncertain. I do what I can, not knowing where the next commission or sale is going to come from. And as I realized lately, the daily grind never stops. I can’t afford to wait for returns on work I’ve already done — I have to move on to the next project.

I don’t doubt myself as much these days. The support that I am getting from family, friends and patrons has inspired me to keep moving forward. I now have a clear picture of the kind of success that I would like to achieve. This is something I’ve never been able to define before.

In many ways my circumstances haven’t changed, only my perspective has. And things are beginning to look good…

3 thoughts on “The Road Thus Far

Leave a Reply

