The Checklist for Narrowing Down Your Photography Portfolio (Reblog)

I am in the process of building a unified portfolio. A task that I ‘relish’ as much as culling, selecting and processing pictures after a shoot. But it is something that needs to be done (periodically at that). Viewers and prospective clients should be able to look at a representative sampling of my work and know not only what kind of pictures I make, but more importantly, discern if I am a right fit for their creative vision.

As I have to work the day job, I’m giving myself at least a couple of months to complete the task. The goal is to have a first version of my portfolio up on this site by April this year. It’s going to be a long and arduous process. I will take my best pictures with me into this crucible, and hopefully, the labor will temper me and whatever survives intense and critical selection will make my portfolio more refined.

And these are just the portraits. I still have to decide what to do with my travel and street photography.

As with most endeavors, it is the start that almost always proves to be the most difficult. If you’re a photographer currently doing a portfolio review (or any other creative presenting your work on the web for that matter), I have found this inquiry-based system presented by Chris Gampat on the Phoblographer as a great guide in doing so —

The Checklist for Narrowing Down Your Photography Portfolio.

Leave a Reply

