A Photo a Day — Triumph

Today’s assignment* is to use contrast in an image to make one’s bold take on triumph.

The solutions in the test tubes pictured above are actual chemicals that we use in the lab. I specifically chose these three to represent the three main hues in the RGB color space. This was shot using natural light streaming in through the large bay of windows that can be seen in the background.

I chose a scene from the lab because to be able to make beautiful pictures of things associated with a career that I was ambivalent about to begin with is a huge win in my book. Growing up, I made no secret of wanting to pursue a career in the arts: first it was poetry, second was music and the third (and the only one that has stuck) is photography. However, I found myself with an above average aptitude for science as well, which to my detriment was what family and friends would choose to focus on.

battled for years to show and prove to the people in my life that I am (and I hope I’m not being too assuming here) an artist in the garb of a scientist. It was, and still is, an uphill climb, but I am happy to say that I now have the love and support of the people who believe in me and my photography. You dear reader belong to this group, and for that I am grateful.

*This series of  Photo-a-Day posts are the result of my having signed up for Blogging U.’s Photography 101 course, which requires all participants to post a photo a day from November 3 to November 28. A theme is assigned daily, which one then interprets, shoots and posts all within a 24-hour timeframe. 

One thought on “A Photo a Day — Triumph

Leave a Reply

