A Photo a Day — Moment

Today’s assignment* is to capture a fleeting moment.

I was looking forward to shooting pictures for the day’s theme, but the rest of my day apparently had other plans. I had to dig (although not too deep) into the archives for the image above, which is of a fishing village at Cansaga bay.

I know that the assignment calls for blur and movement, but I thought I’d focus more on capturing the ephemeral. Sunsets are very brief affairs on my end of the planet as they usually only last no more than a few minutes. It signals the end of the day, and reminds the weary worker that it’s time to head home.

And before I send this quasi-throwback on its way, I would like to suggest that it’s still possible to convey motion, even without blur in the shot. The ripples in the water denote both movement and the direction thereof as the boat in the foreground travels through it.

*This series of  Photo-a-Day posts are the result of my having signed up for Blogging U.’s Photography 101 course, which requires all participants to post a photo a day from November 3 to November 28. A theme is assigned daily, which one then interprets, shoots and posts all within a 24-hour timeframe. 

Leave a Reply

