A Photo a Day — Architecture

I have signed up for Blogging U.’s Photography 101 course, which requires all participants to post a photo a day from November 3 to November 28. A theme is assigned daily, which one then interprets, shoots and posts all within a 24-hour timeframe. 

Today’s assignment is a study in architectural forms.

The only time I had to shoot for today’s assignment was midday, which played well in my favor since the strong, contrast-y light proved to bring out the most detail in the architecture of the surrounding buildings. Many photographers would avoid shooting at this time of the day altogether due to the harsh quality of the light, but this ‘wrong’ kind of light, is just right for this inanimate and imposing subject.

I shot in monochrome mode to help me better focus on framing and composition, while using a circular polarizer to selectively saturate certain colors in the frame. In my opinion, this image works better in black and white, not only because there aren’t any colors that compete for the viewer’s attention, but the stronger contrast brings out the age and character of the buildings as well.

20141118-jrl_architecture_015

5 thoughts on “A Photo a Day — Architecture

    1. Thanks, Laura. Where I strive to create layers in my composition with each thoughtful shot, I didn’t quite realize how the color added to this effect in this picture. Thanks for helping me see that.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Lisa. I agree that texture is easier to see in a black and white image. I try to shoot in monochrome mode every chance I get because I find that it helps me with composition.

      Like

Leave a Reply

