Answers to Unspoken Questions (1)

Over the years, many people have looked at me and my pursuit of photography and  have had much to say about it. Mind you, it’s not all good and they don’t generally say it to my face, but word gets to me one way or another. I wonder if we as a species have all but lost the fine art of offering praise or constructive critique, when we have to resort to these passive-aggressive murmurings.

However, instead of dwelling on the negative, I am going to take one of these choice statements every few posts or so and address them here the best way I can. Perhaps by offering my own point of view, these people can see where I am coming from. Of course, they’re still free to hate my work being discerning consumers of art and all, just as long as they have enough data to make that conclusion.

1. A scientist has no business with art.

130820-jrl_uscchemexhibit_078

For those who have been following this blog, you might already know about my background in chemistry, so this is one comment I actually hear a lot. I would like to start by saying that this statement is a bit narrow-minded and it does nothing to promote cooperation between different disciplines as it forces the antiquated notion of art : science = day : night.

I don’t believe that creativity is solely the province of the artist; in as much as a systematic and structured approach is a tool that can only be employed by a scientist. This misconception is born out of the insecurity of people who cannot imagine to live in a world where something or someone defies a singular definition. Many groundbreaking scientific discoveries were borne out of creatively thinking outside of the box. On the other hand, color theory, the perception of light and shadow, and the rules of composition all show that there is an underlying order to the seeming abstractness of art.

Art and science may take different paths toward the same endeavor, but in the end, I truly believe that they both serve to reveal and celebrate humanity at its best.

2 thoughts on “Answers to Unspoken Questions (1)

    1. Thank you, Lisa. I initially thought that it did not warrant an explanation as well, but it seemed that making this assumption only propagated the misconception.

      Like

Leave a Reply

