Your Take: Stand by or Surrender?

The pictures in the above gallery were shot at different years, starting with 2010 from the left up to 2012 on the right. I’m not trying to show how my approach to photography has changed, but rather how it has remained mostly the same.

The way I make pictures stems from my visual aesthetic and personal taste. It’s not a clear vision that I had me when I first started, rather it’s more of a pattern that has emerged as I continued my pursuit of photography over the years. I do not claim to be original nor unique in the way I compose and light my pictures because no one photographer can claim to not have been influenced by other photographers (even other artists) as he learns his craft. I would like to think that I let my visual style filter out what I believe I needed from the stream of photographic information; in the end, creating a mixture that is altogether my own.

But what if you find that the style that you’ve carefully cultivated over time is not that particularly trendy — when a picture shot by another photographer taking about all of two minutes to capture and process winds up getting more attention and feedback than one you’ve planned for a month and slaved over for hours to finish. Would you swap it out for one that is? 

Should you stand by your guns so to speak or surrender to change?

I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments section below. Let’s keep things civil and constructive.

4 thoughts on “Your Take: Stand by or Surrender?

  1. Perhaps, adaptability would be the key just like the theory of evolution. If one will not adapt to change, one is bound to go extinct. This is different from surrendering. When one adapts, he still retains his sense of individuality. A giraffe remains a giraffe despite the elongated neck. An adaptable photographer or artist finds a way to adapt to the current trend without losing his/her own style.

    Perhaps, you can learn from this: http://www.finearttips.com/2010/12/how-i-destroyed-a-painting-to-make-it-better/. 🙂 Just my 2 cents, P’re, to start the ball rolling. 🙂

    Like

    1. Great point, P’re. I agree that it is crucial that one adapts without losing his/her own voice in the crowd.

      Thanks for sharing the link. The lesson about evaluating and re-evaluating your work is a great lesson to impart to any creative.

      Like

  2. change is an inevitable part of life I do not find changing from one style to another that much of an issue I would rather integrate what’s new with what I already have. It would also depend on the intention of my photographs. If my goal is so that I could receive more feedback then naturally I will give more effort into knowing and doing what will gain me just that but if my intention is to share with the world what I think is my own then it wouldn’t matter for me if I had to change my style. . .

    The goal and the intention matters but keep in mind more often than not people who don’t really care whether they get the attention get exactly that. Success often comes simply because you’ve forgotten to think about it and just adhere to your noble intentions.

    “Success is the side-effect of someone’s adherence to a particular goal without thought of reward.” —Viktor Frankl

    Like

    1. What wonderful insights, Paulo. Thank you for taking the time to share them here. I especially like the last sentence of the second paragraph. Great stuff.

      Like

Leave a Reply

